Search This Blog

The Away PA provides an "on demand" secretarial and business support service in conjunction with it's online office "Head Office". To find out more about how you can take advantage of a fully supported office, anywhere, any time, visit the Head Office website or The Away PA Website or email info.headoffice@theawaypa.eu
or telephone 08450 527565.

Thursday, 16 April 2009

Quick Desktop Shortcuts

If you find the Favourites menu hard to access in Internet Explorer 7, there is an alternative that means saving the web links as shortcuts to the Windows Desktop. Then the website can be started just as you would a program.

First, go to the web page that you want to save as a shortcut. Press the left Alt key to make the full menus appear in Internet Explorer. Left-click on the File menu, then Shortcut to Desktop. Minimise the Internet Explorer and any other windows you have open and you will see the icon on the Desktop. Left-click on it once and press F2 if you want to change the name. Double-click on it to go striaght to that web page. Cool!

Monday, 13 April 2009

Named Range for Mail Merge

When using a Microsoft Excel sheet as the basis for a mail merge, it is possible to use a section of a worksheet, rather than a whole sheet.

Select the range you want to use in Excel and look for the text box underneath the File menu that shows the cells selected. When the selection is correct, left-click in this box and type a name for the range, such as 'addresses'. Save the spreadsheet and then return to Word.

Click on the Tools menu, then Letters and Mailing and then on Mail Merge. Follow the wizard that appears in the taskbar and click on Browse at step 3 and select the spreadsheet. The window that appears will no include the named range as well as the worksheets. Click on the name of the appropriate range than on OK. Continue the mail merge wizard as normal and it will use this specific range.

Revealing Formulas in Excel

To view all formulas and functions quickly when using any version of Excel, hold down the Ctrl key followed by the accent key. This is normally the first key on the left of the top row of the keyboard (above the tab key). This will immediately display all formulas. A new toolbar will also appear called Formula Auditing. The first button on the left checks for errors and the next two along draw arrows to show where formulas take their information from. Use the same shortcut to return to normal view.

Keep Track of Notes

It's easy to lose notes kept on scraps of paper, so why not keep them handy on the desktop?

Right-click the desktop, select New, then Text Document, call it "Notes". From now on, to make a note, simply double-click the file, press F5 to insert the date and time, type a note and then press the Control and S keys together to save.

How do I gain access to a fax service from word?

For the visitor who left me an IM at 12:48 am last night!! ....... Here is your answer

Do one of the following:


In Microsoft Office Word 2003, Microsoft Office Excel 2003, Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2003, or Microsoft Office Document Imaging (MODI), on the File menu, point to Send To, and then click Recipient using Internet Fax Service.
From Microsoft Office Outlook 2003, on the File menu, point to New, and then click Fax.

The first time you use fax services, you will be prompted to sign up with a provider. Click OK to open your Web browser, and then follow the signup instructions on the Web site.
Close your Web browser, and then return to the Microsoft Office program you want to fax from.
Repeat step 1. An e-mail message will open in Outlook with your document attached as a .TIF (image) file, or you can attach a file to the message.
I can recommend e-fax.
awaypa: Here is the link to sign up with e-fax: https://www.efax.com/en/intl/product/pricing?rqcp=1

Friday, 10 April 2009

Old Style Office Menu for Office 2007

Some people love the new Microsoft Office 2007, but for those of us who still miss the old menus from Office 2003, there is a useful little add-on to bring them back called "UBitMenu". Go to: http://www.ubit.ch/software/ubitmenu-languages.

Friday, 13 March 2009

Find and access recent documents easily

The Recent Documents menu on the Start Button is really useful because it makes it easy to access a document, movie or photo that you worked on previously, but not all computers have it enabled - perhaps for privacy reasons?

It might be helpful to know how to enable and disable and clear it, so here goes......

1.
Right click the Start Button and select Properties.
2. Select the
Start Menu tab and click the Custom button.
3. Select the
Advanced Tab and tick the option to list your most recently opened documents.
4. The
Clear Button that empties the list is also located here.